At the centre of the curriculum is the child. The total program of the School curriculum is aimed to promote the development of each child. Teachers at Darkinjung Barker and Ngarralingayil Barker aim to cater for individual differences including differing rates of maturation and development and to help each child develop positive self-esteem, confidence and a love for learning. There exists a focus on a differentiated curriculum. The classroom teacher has the overall responsibility for the educational, emotional, social, spiritual, physical and cultural development of the child. In addition there is a dynamic cultural program where children learn to celebrate their Aboriginality.

Each week students will be engaged in learning in the key areas of:

  • Working Mathematically
  • Number and Algebra
  • Measurement and Geometry
  • Statistics and Probability.
  • Communicate through speaking, listening, reading, writing, viewing and representing.
  • Use language to shape and make meaning according to purpose, audience and context.
  • Think in ways that are imaginative, creative, interpretive and critical.
  • Express themselves and their relationships with others and their world.
  • Learn and reflect on their learning through their study of English.
  • Develop knowledge and understanding about the nature of history and key changes and developments from the past.
  • Develop knowledge and understanding about key historical concepts and develop the skills to undertake the process of historical inquiry.
  • Develop knowledge and understanding of the features and characteristics of places and environments across a range of scales.
  • Develop knowledge and understanding of interactions between people, places and environments.
  • Apply geographical tools for geographical inquiry.
  • Develop skills to acquire, processes and communicate geographical information.

Darkinjung Barker and Ngarralingayil Barker are places where young people are prepared for active and responsible participation in the community. They are a place where each member of the community is affirmed, valued and challenged.

Five core values are identified as central to these principles.

  • Commitment
  • Compassion
  • Courage
  • Integrity
  • Respect